What Moms Miss the Most: Life Before the Crazies.. Uh hm.. Kids.

Trust me; being a mom is one of the most rewarding experiences I have ever been given. It’s one of those things where you can’t believe you are actually responsible for this tiny human and it really gives you more confidence in yourself and makes you more proud than ever before.  And no, I wouldn’t trade it for ANYTHING.

With that being said, when you become a parent, you immediately become “no longer number one”. Your needs are put aside and someone else’s needs are put before yours.  That’s how it goes and you know this; you totally accept this.  That doesn’t mean, though, that there aren’t some things that you TOTALLY miss.

I’M NOT MADE OF STONE, PEOPLE! Jumping into parenthood is like jumping into a dark hole, blindfolded and not knowing how far down it goes or what is going to be at the bottom if and when you ever make it. It is a constant struggle with battling guilt, making decisions and wondering if you are ever really going to nail it.  Well, sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but you’re not.  You’re just not.  But there is a silver lining.  A light at the end of the tunnel, if you will.  You’re not alone, girlfriend; and that counts for something, right?

Do you ever catch yourself trying to remember what it was like before you had kids? It’s hard isn’t it?  Well, as they say “it’s the little things” that I miss the most:

  1. Waking up whenever I want! (NOT 5:30 a.m. would be nice, too)
  2. Having a cup of coffee that is actually hot! By the time I actually get around to drinking it, it’s as cold as the dark depths of my sour soul.
  3. As much as I love hugs, I really don’t need them as I sit on the toilet.
  4. Watching an ENTIRE movie on Netflix while lying in bed! A freaking bonus is thatlife_with_a_toddler it would be a movie that doesn’t utter the words “grumpy old troll”, “you must wear your boots” or “to the rescue”.
  5. Being lazy. Just lying on the couch and eating chips without someone staring at me, jumping on me or sneezing directly on my eyeball.
  6. Driving my car in silence. Not having to scream in the backseat, pass food to the back seat a hundred times or stop to get the gum out of anyone’s hair.
  7. Having a shower without an audience.
  8. Not having to eat leftover food that was already chewed up using someone else’s mouth just to avoid “hurting anyone’s feelings” because it was a “gift”.
  9. Being spontaneous! Gone are the days where you decide halfway through your work day that you will leave after work and go shopping or out for supper instead of going home.
  10. Going grocery shopping alone.  I know..  I know.
  11. Being Bored! 

I always get told by old ladies: “there will be a time when you will no longer have these moments and they will move out and have lives of their own.  You’re gonna miss this“.

Well, maybe you’re right and maybe I will.  But for now, at this exact moment, you can SHOVE IT old lady because MAMA WANTS TO WATCH A DAMN MOVIE IN PEACE!!!!!

I hope this made you smile 😉

4 thoughts on “What Moms Miss the Most: Life Before the Crazies.. Uh hm.. Kids.

Leave a Reply

