An Open Letter to my Human: A Dog’s Perspective

To my human,

Hello there! I’ve been laying here on your head all cozy & warm and thinking about how much you mean to me and I just really want to share some things with you.  If you only knew how much I love you, human.

I wish I could talk to explain how much I love it when you rub that special spot right behind my ear and look at me with a big goofy smile because my foot starts kicking.

Or when you dress me up just like my tiny human for Halloween so I don’t feel left out.  Thank you for giving me a tiny human to play with, by the way.  What did I do to deserve such love?

I wish I could explain to you how happy I am when you come home after work, get down on your knees and let me lick your face. I missed you so much!  I know you are really busy but that is me expressing my appreciation for you.  I waited all day for that exact moment.

Thank you for giving me furry friends to play with. I love the company but secretly I am watching you watch me because it makes me so happy to see you smile at me.  I know I am being a good dog, then!

I don’t even mind when you keep putting that flashy light in my face and telling me not to move because I know I will get a big hug from you after and sometimes even a treat! I hear you telling your friends how funny I was and I really like that.  I like being funny with you.

I love when you tell me I am a good guard dog even though we both know I would never hurt a flea. I just like the feeling I have when I am protecting you and our family.

I wish I could tell you how thankful I am when you give me a little piece of your supper off YOUR plate! I wasn’t expecting that at all!  I feel so special that you would think of me!  You tell me to stop staring at you while you eat but I love watching you.  I just can’t help myself!  I am so lucky to have you.

You left your Facebook open the other day and I saw that you posted pictures of me sleeping. At first I thought you were weird but then I came to my senses.  How could someone as amazing as YOU be weird?  You are proud of me.  Thank you for thinking of me even as I sleep.  I AM pretty cute, though!

Thank you for giving me extra gentle hugs as I get a little older. I don’t always move as fast anymore so when you have patience for me I know how much you love me.  I really know.  Some people would just give me away to another family; but not you!img_6410

Please don’t be too sad when I have to go. Just remember how much I loved you and more importantly, remember that I know how much you loved me.  You made my life amazing in every way right until heaven had to take me away.  I’ll always be watching over you.

I guess I just wanted you to know how much you mean to me. I know I am only a part of your life, but you are my ENTIRE life.  I love you more than anything else.  My whole purpose on this earth is to make you happy and I wouldn’t spend it any other way even if I had the choice.  I am so lucky.

Love forever and ever and ever and ever and ever and ever,

Your Dog xo

OH LOOK! MY TAIL!!  LOOK AT ME, MOM!  WATCH ME, DAD!

❤ Remembering our angels who are looking over us always ❤

“A huge thank you to each and every person who shared a photo of their beautiful dogs for this post.  I thoroughly enjoyed looking at each one.  If we could bottle up all of the love that these dogs have been given, the world would be in complete peace and harmony.” – Mal xx 

3 thoughts on “An Open Letter to my Human: A Dog’s Perspective

Leave a Reply

