Decisions.

When you become an adult, there are many decisions you have to make.  You have to decide things like where you are going to live, what car you are going to drive and sometimes you have to choose which bill is going to get paid each month.  When you become a parent, there are even more decisions you are responsible for.  You must then decide whether or not you will nurse or bottle feed, when bedtime will be, if you should let you child eat sugar for breakfast, which school they will attend and how you will administer discipline (if at all).  No matter how big or small the decision, it will have an impact on your life, so you have to choose wisely.

I’ve been battling a pretty big decision over the past couple of months and it has finally come to rest.  Over the past four years I have had the opportunity to sit as a Board Member on the Strait Regional School Board.  Aside from gaining a wealth of knowledge in budget, finance and policy (to name a few), I have also developed confidence, made friendships, overcome obstacles and gained great respect for our managers, directors, administration, fellow Board Members & our Superintendent of Schools.

I had many expectations jumping into this position four years ago.  I had big plans to change the system, fix what was broken, get more for our small rural schools and have my say.  I can say with great confidence that I had every opportunity to have my say but I quickly learned that “my say” was not the “final say“.  Although sometimes I didn’t agree with others opinions, we were a TEAM.  There are 12 members sitting around the table and those 12 members make decisions together.

Being able to see the big picture from the inside made it a lot easier to understand why some decisions were made for our region.  You can’t just slam your fist down and decide that a school needs all new computers and double the amount of teachers.  There are policy’s that must be followed and budgets to adhere to.  I see that now.  And I respect it.

Our four year term has come to an end and another decision I had to make, is should I reoffer or should I not?  My first reaction was that I absolutely had to reoffer and go for a shot at another 4 year term.  I love the SRSB and I love the school I represent.  But a simple message that I received changed all of that.  I have decided that I will not reoffer.

When Chelsea was nice enough to send me a message on social media letting me know that she had decided to run because it was a passion of hers, I felt so many emotions.  At first I was a little disappointed.  But when I thought more about it, I realized that I also felt a great sense of relief!  A weight that I didn’t know existed was lifted from my shoulders!

I thought to myself “what an amazing opportunity for me to get involved from a different area and at the school level.  Now that I have experience at the Board level it’s time for me to participate as a mother.”

I think the reason I felt so relieved is because I have every confidence in the person who has decided to run. It is great that young people are getting involved like I did.  I want to see more new faces on the Board because if we want to make a change, we need to BE the change and make room for new ideas and perspectives.  After all, it is these people who are going to be taking care of MY child.  I want these people to have new-age ideas, have open minds and be able to relate to my child as I felt I could during my time on the Board. In my opinion, Chelsea will be a fantastic asset to the Board.

Lux is starting preschool next year and will soon be in the school system. My main focus has to be on my family.  Being a mom and not a Board member will allow me to be more involved in the school community and that is exactly where I want to be.

I want to take a moment to thank former Board Member Kim Horton. When Kim decided to step down after serving two terms, she was the one who encouraged me to run in her position.  I thought that they would be hard shoes to fill and I was right.  Kim left a mark on the Board that will never be touched but I did my best to follow her advice: “Ask questions and always stand up for what you truly believe.”  I am also taking that advice as I step down.  Kim fought a hard battle and my school is in a good place right now.

I will end by thanking everyone at St. Mary’s and everyone at the Strait Regional School Board for giving me the opportunity to represent you, to be a part of an amazing team and for being able to see how incredibly difficult it is to run such an amazing region the way you all do. I will take forward my knowledge and always support you as best as I know how.  The past 4 years have completely changed my life.

Now, I will leave feeling confident in my decision knowing that my friends and family support me and that I will be able to take what I have learned and use it to the best of my knowledge at the school level & as the damn good mom I know I am!

All the best for another successful term at the

Strait Regional School Board!

 

srsb%202013%2011%20x%2014-001-final-bob%20martin

 

 

2 thoughts on “Decisions.

  1. Melissa says:

    Mal I’m so proud of you! I know you’ve given this position your all and I know this decision is one that was terribly hard for you to make! You started this position as a parent to be and I know it was hard for you and you’ve made many sacrifices! You have taken time away from your family and attend meetings/training, the late night calls from concerned patents, you’ve droving in crazy weather and truly given your all to this position!! As a parent I thank you for all that you’ve done, not just for St Mary’s but the entire SRSB! Knowing that there are people like you on the board (and possibly new members who will run) makes me feel confident that my child’s education is being taken seriously, and as a parent, what more can I ask!?
    Congratulations on what I will call a very successful four-year term! I hope you walk away from this knowing that you’ve made a difference and I’m so proud you stepped up and filled the void!! ☆☆☆☆☆

    Liked by 1 person

    • momanticsblog says:

      Melissa’s I don’t even know what to say.. And that is rare for me! Thank you so much! It was not a decision I took lightly but one that I feel confident about. Knowing that someone very able is filling my shoes helps! And knowing I won’t miss out on more of Luxs firsts, helps the most! xo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

