Recipe: Simple Homemade Donair Meat & Sauce!

I’m not going to dilly dally with this post (that’s right, I said dilly dally.  That’s how serious I am about this recipe.)  My husband is a HUGE donair fan and by association, I became a bigger fan over the years as well.  Last month I graduated from just eating donairs to actually making my own donair meat and although I was nervous, it actually turned out really great and was super easy to make!

I went through the original recipe I was given and made the necessary tweaks & changes that I believed would make it AMAZING.  So here it is.  My take on the kick ass “East Coast Style Donair”. 

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb ground beef (a regular/larger size pack- not the small one)
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp onion salt
  • 2 tsp garlic salt
  • 5 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tsp dried oregano

Directions:

  1. In a bowl using an electric mixer, thoroughly mix together the ground beef and spices. Pack the meat into 2 thick loaf shapes. Cover and put in the refrigerator for at least 6 hours or overnight.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  3. Place the meat loaves on a baking sheet over parchment paper and bake for about 80 minutes, flipping them about halfway through. Make sure you let the meat cool completely before slicing or it will fall apart (slice meat ¼ inch thickness).

 

Basic Donair Sauce Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • ½ cup white sugar
  • ¼ plus 2 tbsp white vinegar

 

Directions:

Mix together the milk and sugar until the sugar is dissolved. Gradually add in the vinegar and taste after each addition until you have the desired taste.

 

Slap these b!tches on some heated pita bread, sprinkle with mozzarella cheese, chopped onion and tomatoes and get ready for your world to be ROCKED!

Leave a Reply

