Don’t Tell the Bride!

When it comes to all things “wedding”, there are certain things you, as a bystander, have to get straight so you don’t ruin it all for yourself and the happy couple.  Don’t be that person.  Don’t do it.  Don’t.

I have these friends who are getting married next weekend.  My husband and I actually became friends with the groom about 10 years ago and when he met his now fiancé, we fell in love with her, too!  My husband is a groomsman in the wedding and we couldn’t be more excited for them!

Those of you who have ever gone through a wedding either as a bride, groom, bridesmaid, whatever, probably know the unwritten rule in the invisible book of “How to not be an Asshole”.  This book has one rule and one rule only; DON’T TELL THE BRIDE.

When I say “don’t tell the bride”, I don’t mean not to speak to her.  I mean, if you can’t find her centerpieces to decorate for the reception, it’s not her problem.  If you misplaced the rings before rehearsal, she never needs to know. If the GD church burns down the week before, you’d better arrange a barn raising bee and get that mother built by wedding day and the bride will be none the wiser!!

I’m not exaggerating here, people!

Do you think the bride is just spending her last days before possibly the most important day of her life just schmoozing?  Laying back, having pink drinks by the kiddie pool and dreaming of how perfect her big day is going to be? HELL NO!

Speaking from my experience, the term “Bridezilla” is a real thing!  I was stressed, emotional and irritable.  I wasn’t young, wild and free.  Not even CLOSE.  Thankfully I had the best family, bridesmaids and groomsmen I could ever ask for, and I knew nothing that was going on with my wedding two weeks prior to the day, and I couldn’t have been happier about that!

Don’t get me wrong, if there was exciting news to share, I was the first to know.  If something went wrong, I had no idea.  They just let me believe everything was going smoothly and everything was perfection!  Meanwhile, these people were freaking the freak out, spending too much of their own money on my wedding and staying up late because of things that I forgot to get done.  But did they tell me?  NO!  Because it was MY DAY!

And I practice this rule, too!  I will be the brides biggest fan and your biggest nightmare if it means the bride gets what she wants on her wedding day.  It’s just what you do!  My sister and best friend (and other bridesmaids and groomsmen for that matter) were amazing angels during my wedding time and I couldn’t have been more thankful for them! *you know who you are*❤

If you can take one thing from this rant, just one thing, let it be this:

“Put your no good jealous, snooty, arrogant egos aside and let the bride have her day.  This is the one day she gets to be queen.  Everything is about her, her husband and her favorite people in the entire world.  Why would you ever want her memories of that day to be dampened by your selfishness?  Just know that we would do the same for you because you deserve to be happy and completely oblivious, too.”

Here comes the briiiide! Daa, da, da, daaaa!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Don’t Tell the Bride!

  1. Carol J Forrester says:

    ‘What problem? No there’s no problem here. This thing behind my back? It’s nothing really- oh look! Champagne!’
    Haha, this had me chuckling all the way through. I’m getting married in 2018 and my sister has already stepped up to say this role will be her’s.
    Great post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

